Clinical Cancer Research Network

The Hunter New England (HNE) Clinical Cancer Research Network (CCRN) was first formed in 2007 under an initiative funded by the Cancer Institute NSW.  The CCRN was established to promote and support a portfolio of cancer clinical trials in the HNE region that best meet the needs of people affected by cancer.

The core objective of CCRN is to accelerate the uptake of promising new clinical approaches into practice by providing the evidence of efficacy, and thus improve cancer results through research.

The HNE CCRN has 13 participating cancer clinical trial units located at 6 different treatment centres.

The establishment of the HNE CCRN has improved the quality, efficiency and quantity of clinical trials operations in our region, with positive relationships existing between clinical trial units.

 

PositionRepresentation
HCRA Director
Committee  Chair
Prof. Stephen Ackland
E: Stephen.Ackland@newcastle.edu.au
HCRA Clinical Research Fellow
Committee Co-Chair
Dr James Lynam
E: James.Lynam@newcastle.edu.au
Clinical Trial Coordinator
GI Surgery
Rosemary Carroll
E: Rosemary.Carroll@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au
Clinical Trial Coordinator
Haematology
Michele Gambrill
E: Michele.Gambrill@calvarymater.org.au
Clinical Trial Coordinator
Medical Oncology
Kim Adler
E: Kim.Adler@calvarymater.org.au
Clinical Trial Coordinator
Newcastle Private
Julie Charlton
E: Julie.Charlton@healthscope.com.au
Clinical Trial Coordinator
North West Cancer Centre
Margaret Chamen
E: Margaret.Chamen@hnehealth.nsw.gov.au
Clinical Trial Coordinator
Palliative Care
Naomi Byfieldt
E: Naomi.Byfieldt@calvarymater.org.au
Clinical Trial Coordinator
Radiation Oncology
Sarah Gallagher
E: Sarah.Gallagher@calvarymater.org.au
Clinical Trial Coordinator
Surgical Oncology
Vicky Sproule
E: Vicky.Sproule@anzbctg.org
Clinical Trials PharmacistShu Ren
E: Shu.Ren@calvarymater.org.au
The University of Newcastle, Australia Hunter New England Local Health District Calvary Mater Newcastle Hunter Medical Research Institute Cancer Institute NSW